The Little Things in Life

 

Dear Jackie,

I am writing to invite you to join Jack Prelutsky, Jane Yolen, Lemony Snicket, Judith Viorst, Douglas Florian, Sharon Creech, and many others in an anthology of poems I am putting together for Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

There was a bit more detail in the middle…………then

With kindest regards,

Kenn Nesbitt, Children’s Poet Laureate
www.poetry4kids.com

Well, after I’d picked myself up off the floor, I, in typical Jackie fashion, began to cry – I know – it’s pathetic but I’m awfully good at it, so cry I did.

I mean for heaven’s sake, Kenn Nesbitt, the Children’s Poet Laureate had chased me down and made contact and I was, I think, understandably overjoyed.

After sending him about a million poems I am delighted to announce that my poem, Morning Star has made the cut. It’s a small poem, but it’s the little things in life that are often the best.

Now not wanting to wish my life away, roll on 2016 so that I can proudly hold an anthology that will not only be full of poems from those listed above but will also be be chock-a-block with poems from some of my favourite Ozzie poets, listed below…

Sherryl Clark

Meredith Costain

Mike Lucas

Sophie Masson

Sally Murphy

And if anyone knows of any other Ozzie poets that should be on this list please let me know and I’ll update it.

Congratulations to you all.

 

5 thoughts on “The Little Things in Life

  1. Me too! I got that lovely little email that made me eeep with joy. Lovely to see so many Australians included. It sounds like a wonderful compilation. Congratulations, Jackie – and all the other Aussie poets. Can’t wait to share a cover with you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

