The Sydney SCBWI conference – July 2014

SCBWI logo

 

 

Oh my goodness how excited am I?

.

VERY, VERY BLOOMING EXCITED!

 

That’s how excited I am and I’m going to tell you why.

.

Conf-logoNext July at the Sydney SCBWI conference I will be appearing on a panel along with the Managing Director, Publisher, Marketing and Publicity Manager of Walker Books Australia . AlsoWalker Logo on the panel with be the illustrator, Marjorie Crosby-Fairall of our book The Croc and the Platypus. We will be discussing the journey from submission to publication – a process, that I have to say, has been one of the most enjoyable times of my life.

When I first discovered that people quite liked what I could do with rhyme and meter back in 2004 my dream was to be able to write a picture book that rhymed – 10 years and many poems later my dream will be realised.

I was warned that picture books were the most difficult to write and rhyming picture books were the most difficult of all. Unfortunately my brain appears to be hard wired thanks to the likes of Milne, Seuss, Dahl, Lear, Dennis and Carroll so rhyme is what I do. And of course like any skill, the harder you work at it, the better you get and eventually that dream that is hovering way, way off in the future becomes a reality.

It’s all about persistence, stickability and joy. I write the way I do because it makes me smile. I’ve always been a bit of a joker, I love making the people around me laugh – whoever said “Laughter is the best medicine” was certainly on to something there.

In the last decade I’ve attended two of the Sydney SCBWI conferences and I would recommend it everyone, especially the freshlings. The networking alone will open so many doors and the friendships made will last a lifetime. Where else can you spend so much time with people who understand exactly what you are experiencing?

Christmas is coming, why not design some gift vouchers of different monetary amounts and give them to whoever will be buying you gifts this year and ask for a donation to your SCBWI conference fund. They might look something like this…

Gift CertI think that’s a brilliant idea – don’t you?

So now there’s no excuse. I’ll look forward to seeing you all up in Sydney next July at the conference and or at

>

The Book Launch

 

Where: bookshop 6 Hannah Street, Beecroft NSW.

 

 

 

When: Friday 18th July at 9.45am

 

 

 

I’M SOOOOOOOO EXCITED!

8 thoughts on “The Sydney SCBWI conference – July 2014

Leave a Reply

